B&W Photographs of Thailand in 1988 – 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

These black and white images were taken during a travelling trip to Thailand in ’88, just before tourism there went crazy. I went with three friends, two boys, two girls (not couples). It was an amazing trip; the Thais were very giving and friendly, the countryside was lush, the smells exotic.

I took 32 reels of B&W film, Ilford PANF, FP4, HP5 and some Kodak black & white film that won’t tell me what it is. The camera was the beautiful and iconic Nikon F3 with a 50mm, f1.2, manual focus lens . . . I’m still in love with that camera.

I tried scanning the images but found that 5Mb files were just not good enough; even after much time adjusting their levels, they still looked crap. So I used my Panasonic Lumix LX3 to photograph them – I’ll explain how in a later blog.
This produced very acceptable results though the wide angle lens I used has given some barrelling. I could potentially get rid of the barrelling but for complicated reason I couldn’t – I’ll explain why in that “later blog”.
Fortunately, I like the barrelling.

This is the first time these photographs have ever been published and only a few people have ever seen them. I will include all photographs, unless I consider them to be absolutely worthless. That way, you get to see how I progressed as a photographer over this trip.

I have ‘worked’ on the photographs, my routine was: photograph the image and copy to computer, using the freeware Gimp I selected ‘Invert’ then cropped to 2232 x 3070 pixels, set the Levels and lastly the Clone tool to remove any blemishes.

This is the first sheet, shot on Ilford FP4 film, in chronological order.

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

Travelling Thailand 1988 - Film 1/32

One thought on “B&W Photographs of Thailand in 1988 – 1/32

Leave a Reply

